For a while I have been hearing a tug named “Miss Niz” on the marine radio but was unable to catch a photo of her, until now.

Miss Niz, what a cool name. Who is she? A tug owned by Marquette Towing of Louisiana. Finally, here she comes at me, I turn around and there is the Containership MOL Encore also coming at me. They are going to pass and block my shot, maybe? Miss Niz appears at the stern of the MOL ship, and I get the shot.

Again I ask who is she, maybe Mister Jim knows her, or Amy C McAllister or Robert IV. Maybe they get together and party at night?

MOL Encore eastbound KVK out to sea. Photo: ©John Skelson

MOL Encore about to swallow up Miss Niz. Photo: ©John Skelson

Miss Niz push gear west in the KVK. Photo: ©John Skelson

Mister Jim, a friend of Miss Niz? Photo: ©John Skelson

Amy C McAllister barge on the hip. Photo: ©John Skelson

Robert IV heading for the party? Photo: ©John Skelson

USACE Survey Boat NYSB-1. Photo: ©John Skelson

USACE Survey Boat NYSB-3. Photo: ©John Skelson

Don’t let the cold keep you indoors, get out and Ship spot!

Until next week…

John Skelson

All photos by John Skelson for the Working Harbor Committee

