I woke up on a cold dark morning to find a message from Will Van Dorp (Tugster), letting me know Miss Lis was off Sandy Hook, NJ. I checked Marine Traffic for tracking and figured I had about 2 hours until she arrived at my shooting spot.

Who or what is Miss Lis, you must be wondering by now? She is a tugboat owned by Tradewinds Towing. She is towing a barge from San Francisco, loaded with support materials for a huge crane, also on the way, for the new Tappan Zee Bridge Project. Assisting with the tow was Henry Marine’s tug Pelham.

While I was freezing out on the waterfront, I was also able to shoot the tugs Paul Andrew, Viking, Red Hook and Pegasus.

Miss Lis with the barge tow, entering the KVK. Photo: ©John Skelson

Miss Lis passing IMTT Bayonne. Photo: ©John Skelson

Passing the #9 Buoy. Photo: ©John Skelson

Tug Pelham. Photo: ©John Skelson

The Tow. Photo: ©John Skelson

Tug Red Hook. Photo: ©John Skelson

Kirby’s Viking. Photo: ©John Skelson

Pegasus. Photo: ©John Skelson

Don Jon Marine Paul Andrew. Photo: ©John Skelson

This was the first of several arrivals expected this month. Stay tuned.

Until next week …John Skelson

All photos by John Skelson for the Working Harbor Committee

