The little lighthouse in the harbor has been getting some much-needed renovation-love recently.
Built in 1883, the tiny “spark plug light” has been an iconic fixture in our harbor, generations have passed her daily to and from work, school and play.
The Wall Street Journal: The $1.5 million project is intended to re-create the space for a permanent exhibit that will show the interiors and exteriors as they looked from 1886 to 1919, when light-keeper Katherine Walker held the fort.
Robbins Reef Light is also more familiarly known as “Kate’s Light”, named for her most famous keeper Katherine Walker, who tended the light for 33 years after the passing of her husband in 1886, and is responsible for saving more than 50 seafarers during her tenure.
Read more from the Wall Street Journal here…
posted by Mai Armstrong, h/t to Dr. Roberta Weisbrod – Chair, Working Harbor Committee